P-Bass and Working From Home

  I got four more Bass tracks done, completed 82 out of 84, so I’m gearing up to the next phases of recording. Some of the tracks need extra work on making the Bass gel – one song I ran through a long list of ideas & then began experimenting with not playing on specific beats of 2,3, then 4 – I ended up playing a chorus pattern of root-octave-root and then letting it ring out on the 4th beat (which was a double-snare hit):

  I’ve been working a bit with the Paulownia tonewood Bass with the P-Bass pickup this week, which is a bit more punchy than the other basses & cuts through the mix more. That’s not always what a song calls for, but sometimes it is the right thing to use. I didn’t want the standard Fender P-Bass which this is modeled after, because that is made of alder wood which didn’t sound good to me for low frequency stuff, so I got this Paulownia wood no-brand version & upgraded with a standard P-Bass pickup.  

Working on the lyrical research project a bit more, in reviewing song titles of Billboard Hot 100 Pop writers of the past.

I’ve started reading an interesting book I spotted at the library called “Anatomy of 55 more songs” by Myers (a Wall Street Journal writer), some of the story-behind-the-song articles are interesting, especially the history of “flower power” and the 60’s psychedelic songs, and how the movement peaked when the hippies ran out of money: “Two years after San Francisco’s “Summer of Love”, many hippies had run out of money and headed home, spreading the hippie movement throughout the country.” (Jesse Young of the Youngbloods).  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xGxQXmu7Os

  Tough week with the weather…Smokey the Bear must be pissed. As those Canadian Wildfire smoke clouds descended on Syracuse, the office building I was working in had the temp stats on 74, so the ventilation never activated & the smoke permeated from the hallways and pooled up in my cubicle.

  I requested the ventilation to be turned on since I began to feel a heaviness on my chest…didn’t happen…45 minutes later I began to get dizzy and was reeling. After a check-in with the company nurse stated my blood pressure was lowered but oxygen levels fine, I took off to work from home & felt better as soon as I got some clean air from my car’s A/C.

  I worked from home for a couple of days, which sometimes was a drag to not be able to enjoy my house, then other days it was kind of like that Fifth Harmony song “Work From Home” haha. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GL9JoH4Sws

Leave a comment